So in the last blog entry “Just one example…” I hope you can see that the deep issue there was really something that I had to battle through with God.  I wasnt trusting God and His heart for me.  I took matters into my own hands and in my own power tried to make things happen for myself.  My husband and kids were in the crossfire of the enemy taking me out.  Just like was mentioned in “You have the same enemy…” my husband was getting taken out through me.  I was standing there holding the very instrument that was causing the wounds and damage while “our” enemy hid in the shadows.  It is irritating how simple these issues really are.  They boil down to really dealing with losing sight of a couple simple truths.  But why cant we see it in the moment?

I have a theory.  At least this is how I see it taking place.  If the enemy wants to distract us from the truths and from peace then he is going to have to create chaos, urgency, pain and misunderstanding.  So many times I think he kicks us in the face so-to-speak.  It creates pain and chaos instantly.  Your eyes tear and you are not exactly sure where the blow came from.  There is an urgency to deal with the blood gushing from your face and it places you instantly in a self protective mode.  As you are able to focus again the enemy is nowhere but your spouse, parent, child, best friend, sibling etc is the one standing there (it is going to hit you in a relational place).  The pain aspect causes a reaction of blame.  “Who is to blame for this?”  Did you know we can not even have a car accident anymore?  Insurance companies and lawyers have to have someone to blame because someone must pay for the circumstances.  The gal that rearended me was at fault.  She was so worked up over her own blame I had to keep telling her it was an “accident”.  Accidents can happen.  They aren’t vicious and preditory.  If you are blaming someone then you are in a self protective stance and you can not trust anyone in that place.

So in order to be able to fight back at the real issues you have to be able to break down what the real issues are.  If you go into a kung fu match you better have taken a few kung fu classes so you can counter your opponents moves.  You do that by learning how they fight.  Well this is a little lesson in warfare.  You have to begin to learn how the enemy works and what his tactics are.  What is he really aiming at in a situation.  He could have taken me out and had but he wasnt aiming just for me, he wanted my kids and my husband to go down too.  Not only that but he wanted their wounds to come from me.

In its simplest form, the real issues are distractions from the simple truths.  Truth vs a lie.  Its been the enemy’s tactic for a long long time.  If you are in the midst of something and you can not see what is going on then ask God to bring His truth.  Pray for it.  Go straight to trusting God and His heart for you.  That He is for you not against you.  At every root of my struggles is always that I wasnt trusting God with everything.

We will keep talking about this from time to time.  It will get easier.  Pretty soon you wont be reacting to the urgent, we have to do or deal with it right now!  Even if you get kicked in the face.  Better yet you will get to where you can know that kick is coming and start to avoid the blows all together.  It takes practice.  Practice being watchful and standing in the truth.

